Skip to content

The Big-Ass List of Christmas Movies

December 21, 2015

I’ve assembled a list of notable Christmas movies and TV specials. I’ve organized them chronologically and separated them into MPAA ratings (or a close approximation when not available). I haven’t watched all of these but I will eventually (red are 2015 releases, and if on mobile bold are ones I’ve seen).

RATED G

Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer (1964) (G)
Oooh, the full movie is here for you.
https://youtu.be/U2o5fbro4ms

Emmet Otter’s Jug Band Christmas (1977) (G)

The Snowman (1982) (G)
The themesong is so beautiful…made even better with Nightwish.

The Life & Adventures of Santa Clause (1985) (G)
Out of all of the Rankin/Bass stop animation’s this one is my favorite. Written by  L. Frank Baum it has wonderful characters and I feel is more emotionally mature than some of their other work.

The Christmas Toy (1986) (G)
The original Toy Story!!

The Muppet Christmas Carol (1992) (G)
Michael Caine is always amazing.


RATED PG

The Star Wars Holiday Special (1978) (PG)
I’ve heard it’s so bad that it’s almost good again, almost. Let’s watch the entire disaster together shall we?


A Christmas Story (1983) (PG)
A classic! Did you know they made a second one?? Watch this BuzzFeed video on the movie to “Change the way you watch a Christmas Story!”


Gremlins (1984) (PG)
My kids looooove this movie! They are very excited about a new Gremlins movie being made.

Better Off Dead (1985) (PG)
I would argue that this is the quintessential 80’s teenage angst movie. This is my all-time favourite 80’s movie!

Santa Claus The Movie (1985) (PG)
John Lithgow FTW!

Christmas at Pee Wee’s Playhouse (1988) (PG)
This is worth is just for the ultimate shade he throws at Oprah. The star studded cast is amazing!


Ernest Saves Christmas (1988) (PG)
Full movie

Ghostbusters 2 (1989) (PG)
Oooh yes, watch this together with The Nightmare Before Christmas.

Home Alone (1990) (PG)
Doctor’s Diagnose the Injuries in “Home Alone”

Home Alone 2: Lost in new York (1992) (PG)
MaCaulay Culkin reprises his role as Kevin McCalister (warning, implied violence & language)

The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993) (PG)
Such awesome, can we get another stop motion christmas movie soon please?

Olive, The Other Reindeer (1999) (PG)
So cute! Such Barrymore ❤ Full Movie

How The Grinch Stole Christmas (2000) (PG)
As annoying as Jim Carrey can be he’s just the right kind of annoying to play The Grinch!

Elf (2003) (PG)
I love watching this with the kids. That scene with the narwhal fills me with glee!
Ooooh, deleted scene 😀

The Lion The Witch and The Wardrobe (2005) (PG)
Mmmmm, turkish delight.

Unaccompanied Minors (2006) (PG)
Looks like a great movie to give your kids bad ideas 😛

Fred Claus (2007) (PG)
As my daughter would say “EEEEW kissing!”

Rise of the Guardians (2012) (PG)
So so good!

A Christmas Story 2 (2012) (PG)
This looks terrible.

RATED PG-13

Scrooged (1988) (PG-13)
I love Carol Kane in this.


Christmas Vacation (1989) (PG-13)

It just doesn’t feel like Christmas till Chevy Chase hurts himself.

Edward Scissorhands (1990) (PG-13)
I love this scene. damn you Danny Elfman for making me cry every time!

Batman Returns (1992) (PG-13)
I swear, Tim Burton just loves Christmas or something.

Mixed Nuts (1994) (PG-13)
Poor Steve Martin

Tokyo Godfathers (2003) (PG-13)
three homeless peeps find a baby on Christmas Eve and go on an adventure to find the baby’s parents.

Just Friends (2005) (PG-13)
Ah Ryan Reynolds, so cute!

Four Christmases (2008) (PG-13)
Resse and Vince? Yes please!

How Murray Saved Christmas (2014) (PG-13)
The reviews are mixed, it’s a bit lowbrow…so I of course love it.  Let’s watch it together.

Krampus (2015) (PG-13)
I totally want to see this.

 

RATED R

Trading Places (1983) (R)
Ah, back when Eddie Murphy didn’t do kid’s movies.

Brazil (1985) (R)
So wonderfully weird, just like every Terry Gilliam movie!


Lethal Weapon (1987) (R)
The biggest bromance of all time.


Die Hard (1988) (R)
My all-time favourite Christmas movie. Watch this clip of “Die Hard The Musical” for the lulz.


The War of the Roses (1989) (R)
I hadn’t even thought of this as a Christmas movie before compiling this list, of all of the movies Douglas and Turner have done together this one is my fave.

Die Hard 2 (1990) (R)
Ugh, this scene scarred me for life. I’m super grossed out about anyone fuckign with someone else’s eyes. Thanks John McClane!

The Ref (1994) (R)
It’s been forever since I’ve seen this, but the scene at their therapists office always stuck with me.

The Long Kiss Goodnight (1996) (R)
Watch Geena Davis at her most badass!

Ronin (1998) (R)
Best car chase scene of evarness!


Go (1999) (R)

Party WOOOOOOO


Love Actually (2003) (R)
Billy is the best part of this movie.

Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang (2005) (R)
Kilmer and RDJ together? yes please!

A Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas (2011) (R)
I didn’t even know about this. How did this slip by my radar??

The Night Before (2015) (R)
Need to see this.

Bill Murray’s A Very Murray Christmas (2015) (TV-MA)
If you have Netflix it’s a must watch.

Please enjoy Nick Offerman drinking scotch by the fire. Merry Christmas everyone.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

