Skip to content

I’m so tired of looking for event locations near the Toronto airport!

September 9, 2015

Way back in January I started a job at The Toronto International Airport working on a big project in the IT department.  Part of my job is securing event locations for large offsite meetings. This is a constant pain in the ass because it’s hard to sift through all of the shit to find a decent spot, so I figured I would put my decent finds all in one place.

Update: the last meeting I hosted was held at The Vue and I can’t say enough nice things about them. Olga was great in helping me get everything set up, that catering was fantastic, the staff were all wonderful and went above and beyond for me. I would absolutely book another offsite meeting there! (Update June 2016: and I have. They have taken over the clubhouse below them and totally renovated it. It’s a fantastic space for ANY event, NO JOKE!)

The Corporate Event Centre at CHSI
CHSI Conference Centre - Theatre Style
5110 Creekbank Road
reservation@corporateeventcentre.ca
905-219-0044
Notes: The booking process is a bit cumbersome in that you have to fill out an application before being able to book space. Call or email them directly first to ensure a smooth booking process.

Roma’s Hospitality Centre

5-5980 ShawsonDrive
info@romashospitality.com
905-670-7662
Notes: This is primarily a wedding reception place, but a co-worker got very excited at the prospect of holding meetings here. I am going to check out the space tomorrow, I will update after my visit.

Update: the space isn’t that great if having to present with a projector. With floor to ceiling windows and the screen in an awkward spot in the room it can work for up to around 30 people comfortably in the one room I was shown.

The Toronto Congress Centre
north10.jpg
650 Dixon Road
gem@torontocongresscentre.com
416-245-5000

The International Centre

spaceinquire@internationalcentre.com
6900 Airport Road
905-677-6131
Note: This place has been trying to book stuff with the GTAA (my employer) for a long time and it’s never really worked out. But at least I now have a direct line to Kevin who will be my go-to guy for future bookings.

The Vue Event Venue

thevue@bypeterandpauls.com
195 Galaxy Blvd.
416-213-9788
Notes: This space has a fantastic view overlooking The Royal Woodbine Golf Club. I’d seriously throw a party at this place just because, it looks amazing!

Update: this space IS amazing. They’ve also recently taken over the lower level for the country club portion of the building as well. The only complaint is that the acoustics in the upper level can get a bit muddled.

The Alt Hotel
Yellow
reservations.toronto@althotels.ca
6080, Viscount Road
905-362-4337
Note: Their space has really clean lines and their meeting rooms all look fantastic. I’ve tried to book space here a few times now and it’s just never worked out. They don’t have an onsite kitchen but they do have a catering partner who brings in food for them everyday.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

