Skip to content

The Working Family – Pancakes

November 16, 2014

A weekend just isn’t a weekend for this working family without pancakes!

Because I’m super lazy I always use a mix (I mean really, who has time for this shit from scratch? Not I!). I’ve tried the usual Aunt Jeremiah, and the somewhat better Bisquick pancakes, but they aren’t amazing really, they just fill the void with dough.

Awhile ago The Man decided he wanted to try going gluten free, much to my dismay.  Tell the grocery shopper of the house you want to completely change your diet and watch the look of horror pass over their face.  Try it, it’s fun!

He’s since given up on it, but for a time I brought home all kinds of disgusting gluten free shit, not on purpose, it just worked out that way cause I had no idea what the hell I was doing!  Out of everything I brought home, kinnikinnick pancake mix is the only thing I still buy regularly.  It’s my kids favourite pancake mix, it always tastes fantastic, the box doesn’t lie!!!  If you prefer using a mix for your pancakes I can’t recommend this shit highly enough! If you can’t find it in your local grocery store you can order it from them online.

Now I’m going to give you some tips on making the most of your pancakes.

Tip #1.  Always collect your bacon grease!  I realize that maybe if you’re the type of person to use gluten free pancake mix, you’re maybe not the type of person to eat bacon. But if you are, and you’re just dumping that grease out, it’s a wasted opportunity for using it as a pan lubricant for pan frying pretty much anything.  Save the butter or oil for other things! I have a small glass jar with an air seal lid I collect it in, you can usually find something similar in a dollar store.  I pour it though a kitchen funnel lined with paper towel and then store it in the fridge.

Tip #2. Use a cast iron pan on almost low (if your cook top has it numbered, like a one or two setting).  If you don’t have a cast iron pan, get one! It takes a bit to get it seasoned properly and it’s a bit of a learning curve to use, but once you’ve got it you’ll wonder why the fuck you were ever cooking on a “non-stick surface” in the first place.  BONUS: Cast iron is great to take with you camping too, if you’re into that sort of thing.  I’m not, but I go anyway.

Tip #3. Make more mix than you require.  Leftover pancakes are a godsend on a busy school morning!  

Tip #4.  Use a 1/4 cup measuring cup and rubber spatula to pour your pancake batter into the pan.  I know this sounds a little neurotic, and possibly OCD, “All my pancakes must be of uniform dimension!”. But it’s for a really good reason, and I’ll explain more in a moment.

Tip #5. Because you’ve made all of your pancakes to a size that stores perfectly in a medium Ziplock bag store your leftover pancakes in a medium Ziplock bag!  Keep your pancakes separated with some wax paper, or parchment paper to avoid them sticking together when you’re ready to use them.

Tip #6. Because you’ve made all of your pancakes to a size that fits perfectly in the toaster, put them in the toaster to reheat them.  I guarantee they taste even better than when you first made them!

Now go forth and make pancakes bitches!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2014 9:47 pm

    Awesome sister mine!!
    I’ve been looking for a decent gluten free pancake mix!
    Happy Sunday wishes 😉

Leave a Reply

