Skip to content

How to NaNoWriMo, the working Mom way!

November 5, 2012

Do you know how to write words? Do you know what NaNoWriMo is?  If you’ve answered yes to both of these and you haven’t yet signed up to write your 50,000 word masterpiece (or piece of shit depending on your particular goals) then what are you waiting for?  There’s still time.  Don’t give me this “I’m too busy” bull shit.

I’m going to let you in on my #1 secret for writing anywhere.  Are you ready?

I’m in there, writing furiously

It’s my phone.  Yes I’m writing on my phone.  Before you start scoffing and thinking I’m crazy, think about it.  What do you always have with you no matter what, that you can actually write words on?  Stuck in the Dr’s waiting room with a kid with pink eye?  You can write!  Having your daily constitutional?  That’s enough time to bang off a paragraph or two!  Commuting on the train?  That’s a good 1,000 to 2,000 words right there!  Can’t sleep cause the person lying next to you is snoring?  Put in your headphones and write my friend!  You are bored but it’s not bedtime yet?  Write!

A lot of people are going to tell you to avoid your phone for writing, not me, keep that sucker glued to your hand at all times!

The app I’ve been using to write with is Docs to Go, which unfortunately I can’t really recommend.   If you don’t like auto correct telling your friend your significant other has an anus infection (yes that really happened to me) then you’re not going to like it fucking with your antagonist by merging words together.  What the heck is a “Eellogofusciouhipoppokunurious” anyway?  Another drawback is the cursor sensitivity.  It takes forever to get it into the spot you want it, it shouldn’t be that hard.  Keep in mind these issues only arise when you are backtracking on stuff you’ve already written, if you’re a full steam ahead type of writer you can use this app with no issues and just email your finished document to yourself and edit it in word.  I totally feel like I pissed $30 away when I bought this app though.  If anyone can recommend something better than Docs to Go that will work on the iPhone I’d really appreciate it!

So go, go now, sign up and add me as your writing buddy while you’re at it!

Add me

List of apps for writers

 See I’m not crazy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2012 6:40 pm

    I have been looking for an app as well, finding an editing app for MS Word, or GDocs has been a challenge…

Leave a Reply

