Skip to content

The Working Family – Meal Plan (week of October 15 2012)

October 15, 2012

20121015-090408.jpg

After the September shit storm I’ve been “relaxing” for a bit so I didn’t do a meal plan last week at all and my post the week before was just lame sauce (sorry to anyone who read it and was disappointed. Yes I’m talking about you Lucio!)

This week I was at a loss as to the picture I should draw so I got a guest artist to do it for me. She insists that foxes are dumpster divers, she could be right…she’s taught me all kinds of things that sound totally wrong at first. I admit the plan looks terrible this week, but at least I got homemade lasagne onto the list. I’m just not feeling up to prepping an entire week of meals right now. If you’re wondering WTF “toaster chicken” is, Jane’s makes these rectangle breaded pieces of chicken you literally put in the toaster to cook. Dinner in less than 5 minutes…now that’s fucking lazy!!!

So hopefully I’m back into the swing of things, at least till November hits and then I’m in NaNoWriMo mode.

I did NANo for the first time last year and it was a lot of fun. I had emotional support from my friend and published author M. Garzon which was great and I think helped us actually become closer friends. She had insight into the process and the unexpected muse that popped up in my life and then sent me Elizabeth Gilbert’s excellent TED talk which totally helped.

My muse was a total surprise, I’m going to call it a him because that’s what he felt like to me. It was a weird almost physical feeling presence when he was around and he’d wake me up in the middle of the night to write stuff. He’d make me write things that wouldn’t get used till later in the story or even ideas for the next story. He insisted that the story wasn’t done and I’ll be writing part two this year. I hope he comes back, I’m not sure I’ll have as much fun without him.  I know I sound crazy, I’m just going with it though.

Are you NaNoing this year? If so add me as your writing buddy. You can find me under skamperdans.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2012 2:57 pm

    Yum, your post made me hungry! What’s Turkey Poutine?? (forgive my ignorance!) Good luck for NaNo! I’m limebirdbeth over there if you would like to add me! 🙂

    • skampie permalink*
      October 15, 2012 3:02 pm

      Turkey Poutine is something we have just invented yesterday and haven’t tried yet. We could be gilding the lily here but I think it’s gonna be good. The Man’s family does open face turkey sandwiches with fries and gravy on top, which is actually really good…so we’re just gonna add some cheese curds to that and hope it doesn’t cause heart palpitations.

      Thanks for the luck, I will take all the lucks I can get 😉 You have now been added to my buddy list. Good luck to you too!

      • limebirdbeth permalink
        October 15, 2012 3:04 pm

        That sounds absolutely delicious!! Yum. Haha, you’re welcome and thanks! :

Leave a Reply

