Skip to content

The Working Family Meal Plan (week of August 19 2012)

August 19, 2012

I though last week was bad. This week I had to dig deep, like archaeologically deep, into the freezer for edibles.  So the meal plan is pretty much all of the boxed crap we have.  I found one freezer bag with chicken in it and I’m not 100% sure it isn’t freezer burned, but I’m making us eat it anyways.  I think I have enough food to get us through one more week of destitute meals before we have to start considering cooking the dog.

Don’t worry, we wouldn’t really do that.  There isn’t much meat on her anyhow.

20120819-134344.jpg

look at all the disgustingly delicious boxed crap 😦

After digging deep into the freezer I did find a leathery looking steak.  It made me sad to throw it away, hence the drawing for this week.  I am a dumbass!  I hate steak and fish out of the freezer, I don’t know why I do that to myself.

I had to raid the kids piggy banks for enough money to buy a few perishables and stuff for lunches.  Bringing that jar of change to the grocery store is always so ghetto though, ugh!  I also found a couple of old unchecked lottery tickets.  I’m hoping that they’ll give me a couple (thousand) bucks too *fingers crossed*. (edit: nope!)

After this week the finances should lighten up a little since we both get paid this Thursday, but the last time we got behind it took me 4 months of juggling to get caught up.  Damn you unpaid sick days!  The Man and I have discussed our game plan for this round and we are going to tighten the budget to the breaking point and just keep riding it like that for the foreseeable future.  I have to really scrutinize the bills and look for any possible ways to save some cash.  Any tips on saving cash are much appreciated!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 2:05 am

    I live the freezer burned steak!!! Lol
    I have some in the freezer too…. (:*(

Leave a Reply

