Skip to content

Product Review – Starfrit Hamburger Stacker

August 15, 2012

Way back in the olden days when I was going to college and couldn’t afford meat my roommate would pull out her burger press after hitting the grocery store and press herself up burgers for days. She would taunt me with their meaty goodness as I agonized over my kidney beans. I vowed that someday, when I could afford meat again, I would get me one of those!

But the opportunity never really presented itself, or I just never noticed them when I went into places like Kitchen Stuff Plus, or I just plain forgot about it…that is, until I went to Walmart last month and it was there, at the end of the cleaning supplies aisle (cause that makes sense?), plain as day!!! It was a Starfrit Hamburger Stacker and it whispered “Buy me, you know you want to!” But alas, it wasn’t meant to be that week since I already had a cart full of crap (What is it with that place? It’s like I’m a crap magnet in there or something.) and couldn’t justify the extra $15.

A few weeks after that I purposefully made another trip to Walmart to “buy groceries” but we all know what my real motivation was. Oh burger stacker, where have you been all my life?  I think this product is great and everyone who eats burgers should have one.  My only gripe is that it didn’t come with any write up with tips on using it in the best possible way, but that’s ok cause I’m gonna do that for you here.

There is a very good reason that this appeals to me so much. It’s because I HATE TOUCHING RAW MEAT! Now I have perfected a way to make a burger without ever touching the meat at all. It goes like this:

1. Grab a 1/2 lb tube of ground beef (or if you are really finicky about additives and gross bits in your meat talk to your butcher and get them to grind some for you)
2. Pretend it’s a dick. Hold it up to your crotch and chase your significant other or pet around the house with it. It’s ok, I won’t tell anyone!
3. Cut open the tube and squeeze it into your mixer.
4. Mix up your burger recipe (see below for my recipe)
5. Grab a 1/3 or 1/2 measuring cup (that has a handle, this is super important for not touching your meat) and scoop out the meat mix into your burger press
6. Tap it down a bit with your measuring cup to spread it out a bit (I didn’t do this the first time I used the press and my burgers were a little wonky).
7. Press
8. Repeat steps 5-7 till all the meat is pressed.
9. Pop in the fridge for later, or start cooking (or to really avoid touching it make someone else cook them).

Edit: I’ve had quite a few people find my blog by searching how to get your burgers out of the stacker so I thought I should share that here.  Starfrit has two types of stackers.  One is the kind with a detachable lid and base like mine pictured below, which you can detach by pulling the container off the base by pushing down on the top disc and pulling the container free and than up.  This model is slightly tapered so if it’s not working out for you flip it over and try again.  The other is a kind that opens with a hinge as shown in this quaint french language video.

20120815-080832.jpg

Taa daaaaa 😀

Below is my recipe for…

Bombtastic Burgers

1/2 lb of ground meat (I don’t discriminate, any ground animal will do)
1 egg
1/4 cup (or less) of ground oatmeal, breadcrumbs, almond meal or crushed doritos
1/4 cup of BBQ sauce (pick one that’ll compliment your meat selection of course)
1 onion, chopped and caramelized over low heat in a frying pan with a bit of butter or oil
1/2 cup of shredded cheese (again, pick something that’ll compliment your meat)

Mix, press, cook! Done 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Isabel permalink
    May 7, 2014 7:00 pm

    I like this products but there isn’t enough discs for the burgers & I’ve contacted starfrit & they don’t want to send me any extra ones for my two stackers

    • May 19, 2014 8:38 pm

      Ya, I’ve not had good response from Starfrit’s customer service either unfortunately. It’s weird that they wouldn’t, it would mean more money for them.

Leave a Reply

