Skip to content

Product Review – Dyson DC35 Multi floor (cordless vacuum)

July 26, 2012

I’m going to start this off by saying I didn’t pay for this vacuum, I got it with bonus points through RBC so I may be a little more pleased with this than someone who paid full price (almost $350 CDN), but the Dyson DC35 Multi floor is AWESOME!

It’s lightweight which right off makes it much better than my last clunker. It’s cordless so I can take it anywhere. The charge only lasts 15 minutes, and lets be honest, nobody wants to be vacuuming for longer than that at a time. The beater bar detaches from the wand and clips into the canister (pictured above) which is awesome for stairs. The bottom of the canister flips open with the touch of a button which means you’re never touching what’s inside (unless you’re into that type of thing, I don’t judge).

Image

Ghostbusters 3 teaser poster by soberwookie

But the best part? The best part is that this makes The Man feel like a Ghostbuster and he’s used it more than I have so far . This is a big deal, he normally hardly ever vacuums!

There are some drawbacks to this if you do plan on ghostbusting with your Dyson though. After reading through the operating instructions it clearly states not to suck up any liquids with it. Now, for a diaphanous type of ghost I’m sure that it’s fine but I wouldn’t be trying to suck up any ectoplasm with it! “My Dyson got slimed!”

I think if the Ghostbuster franchise does release another movie (it could happen!) it would be a fantastic ad strategy to cross market them. I could just see The Ghostbusters looking up at the Empire State building at a swarm of ghosts, looking really serious and discussing how they don’t have enough ghost traps for all of them… and then some random dude shows up strapped with his DC35 and they just suck it all up in the remaining 15 seconds of the spot. DON’T CROSS THE STREAMS!

Another portion of the operating instructions states to not let children use it. I suspect Dyson is in cahoots with some sort of lazy children lobby group or something. I figure with the proper safety instruction they’ll be able to operate this without any issues. It could be a little heavy for teeny little muscles to lift though so I’m not going to introduce it to my kids on the chore list for maybe another year or two. I figure a 7 year old can handle it just fine. It’s not because I’m trying to be nice to them, but because I’ll be pretty pissed off if they drop it and fuck it up.

If you are a Royal Bank client I really recommend getting going on some RBC points and cashing them in for one of these. I think if I was in the market for a new vacuum $350 is a little farther on the price scale then I’d want to go, but it’s not totally unreasonable. Plus you’ll never have to buy another bag or filter again and a lot of vacuums that do still use those are in that price range anyways.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 6:35 am

    Hi Shar! Just wanted to send you greetings from a little bit sunny Belgium 😉 x Delphine.

  2. August 7, 2013 6:44 pm

    Hah! I’ve had a Dyson for a while now but never realized it looked so much like a Ghostbuster gadget. 😀

Leave a Reply

