Skip to content

Minor Setback

July 1, 2012

I was visiting a friend the other night, and admittedly I’d had a couple of drinks which probably made me braver than usual.  I’ve been walking really good lately and so as I stepped off the curb I kind of forgot that my ankle is still all fucked up and I made it SO much worse. I think I sprained it cause my ligament feels like it’s dying inside.

I can relate girl!

It’s back to being ridiculously swollen and I’ve actually put the aircast back on for most of the day and got a prescription for Naproxen and another set of x-rays done.  This sucks!  I have an appointment with my surgeon to see progress and I’m only slightly better than I was when I saw him three months ago!

I googled “how to make your ankle feel better” cause I’m starting to get desperate and slightly depressed about it and I want to get this ankle back to a place where I feel at least kind of normal again.

About.com has this to say:

Ice:
For the first 48 hours post-injury, ice pack and elevate the ankle sprain 20 minutes at a time every 3-4 hours. Do NOT ice a ankle sprain for more than 20 minutes at a time!!

Compression:
Use compression when elevating the ankle sprain in early treatment. Using an Ace bandage, wrap the ankle from the toes all the way up to the top of the calf muscle, overlapping the elastic wrap by one-half of the width of the wrap. The wrap should be snug, but not cutting off circulation to the foot and ankle. So, if your foot becomes cold, blue, or falls asleep, re-wrap!

Elevate:
Keep your ankle sprain higher than your heart as often as possible. Elevate at night by placing books under the foot of your mattresses–just stand up slowly in the morning.

So for now this seems like all I can really do to make it feel better.  I AM DISSAPPOINT!  I’m also going to be taking a long hot bath today and then doing the stuff listed above.

They also list other things after it’s feeling a bit better.  I don’t want to push it too hard though until I hear back from my doctor…it’s a long weekend, I’m not holding my breath!

Happy Canada Day everyone.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 3:22 pm

    Yes: RICE – Rest Immobilize Cold Elevate. Hope you’re having some fun on Canuck day xox

    • July 1, 2012 3:24 pm

      ya I’m totally on all of that 😦 I’m trying to but so far it’s been filled with domestic goddess stuff!

  2. July 1, 2012 3:34 pm

    I like how it’s a picture of a model representing your fall…..

    • July 1, 2012 3:44 pm

      ya, I didn’t have photographic evidence and she was the next best thing…LOL!

Leave a Reply

