Skip to content

The Working Family – Meal Plan (week of June 24 2012)

June 24, 2012

I know I’ve discussed my “9-5” grind before (oh those hours away would be SO great).  The Man’s job also takes him out of the house ridiculously early every morning.  With both of us working full time jobs and living in the burbs we aren’t actually at home very much, we barely have any time before the kids are in bed just to feed ourselves and spend a little bit of time together/bathe the offspring…so the last thing we want to spend time on is being in the kitchen cooking crap.

This is what our meal plan looks for this week. Is it healthy? Not always!  Is it doable?  Most of the time.

As you can see, some items are pretty loosely defined since I do up the list before I hit the grocery store and some of those things will depend on what’s on sale or looks tasty (sometimes quality just has to win out my friends). The clip holds an archive of past plans so when I’m feeling uninspired (which is most of the time) I can flip through those for ideas on stuff I already know is going to be ok to do again (experimentation is for ambitious feeling weekends!).  The slow cooker is the working family’s pretend personal chef.  Coming home to a meal you almost forget throwing together (there’s been a few times I’ve been tossing stuff in there yawning through sips of coffee)  is a nice way to trick yourself into thinking someone else has cooked for you.  Thursday is obviously payday and none of us feel like cooking when we have a bit of extra cash to burn on making us all happy (yes crappy take out makes us happy, don’t judge).

The Man is the one home first so I have to cater the plan to things I know he will cook.  I generally end up prepping anything prep worthy so it’s easy for him to just toss in the oven or on the grill.  You’ll start to notice a lot of boxed things on the list on weeks I’m feeling particularly unambitious. On weeks of total unambitiousness there is no list at all.

I’d love to hear from anyone who’s also in a working family household, or a time pressed individual who has mastered the art of the quick meal and how you deal with dinner.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2012 12:42 am

    Love the “eat me” note. You’re such a rebel!

Leave a Reply

