Skip to content

The Working Family – Meal Plan (week of August 12 2012)

August 13, 2012

I’ve taken a couple weeks off of doing the meal plan on account of having “The Plague” or something. It’s hard to put in an effort when you feel like you’re dying! I’m feeling better now, thanks. So this week the meal plan is back on.

20120813-103726.jpg

This weeks guest animal is Emo Cow. I would tell him to cheer up, but he’s right!

The list for this week is largely based on what was already in the freezer. We’re having a tight week financially as it wasn’t just me, but also The Man stuck at home feeling crappy. Lucky for us I stock the freezer with stuff for just this type of situation. My grocery bill this week was less than $100. For a family that usually spends anywhere up to $250 a week on groceries I was pretty proud of myself.

Brussels sprouts are making their first appearance on the list. I like brussel sprouts but this is gonna be an important food introduction for the kids and could go horribly wrong. I’ve been seeing a lot of great reviews on several brussels sprout recipes over the past month or so though so once I pick one I’ll post the link here.

Edit: some days are more conducive to a meal from scratch than others.  Monday rolled around and I wound up having to stay home with a kid who woke up with pink eye (eeeew, chlamydia in the eye!).  So I took the opportunity to bake a batch of cookies and cook the chicken and brussels sprout meal that was listed for Wednesday’s dinner.  I wound up going with this recipe which I liked, The Man thought was alright and the girls both spit out on their plates.  Oh well, onto the next vegetable.  The chicken was a success though, here’s how I made it:

This Chicken is Tasty yo!

20120813-194755.jpg

  • 3 whole chicken legs (skin removed)
  • 1/4 cup organic honey
  • 1/4 cup (or less) whole-grain dijon mustard
  • 2 cloves of garlic, sliced thin
  • a liberal splash of olive oil

Mix all the ingredients in a microwave safe bowl and nuke it for 15-20 seconds, stir to incorporate.  Let it cool for a bit if it’s gotten too hot and toss the chicken and the sauce in a freezer bag to marinade for the day (or overnight, whatever) and put it in the fridge.  Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Put the chicken and all of the saucy bits into a baking dish, cook for 25 minutes.  Lower the heat to 350°F, cook for an additional 15 minutes.  Pull the chicken out and baste it with the saucy juice in the pan and put it back in the oven on broil for about 5-10 minutes.  BAM!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 12:59 pm

    I love your weekly recipes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

